KAI'S TOKYO FOOD NOTES · ASAKUSA

Asakusa Food Stops

Prices, opening hours and closing days for 10 food stops — on one page. Free.

Snacks, sweets and sit-down meals. Pick a few; you do not need to visit all 10. No sign-up.

Choose a few stops
01UnanaEel rice ball¥630
02KokonoeStandard fried manju (a small fried bun)¥220
03Asakusa MenchiPork & beef cutlet¥400
04KagetsudoJumbo melon breadAsk at the shop
05SuzukienMatcha gelato, 7 matcha intensity levelsAsk at the shop
06Miyako SushiSushi sets (sit-down)¥5,390 / ¥11,660
07Imo PippiSweet potato dessertsAsk at the shop
08Asakusa YokochoIndoor food hall · monja-yaki (Tokyo griddle dish)Monja from ¥769
09Komagata DozeuLoach hot pot (sit-down)¥3,480
10Asakusa ImahanSukiyaki set (sit-down)¥9,680 + charges
Tap a shop for hours, closing days, payment methods, dietary information and Google Maps. Prices are for the items or sets shown. Extra orders and any stated charges cost more. "Ask at the shop" means I could not find a price on the official pages I checked. The numbers are not a walking route.
Which stops are close to each other?
Asakusa 2-302 Kokonoe · 03 Asakusa Menchi · 07 Imo Pippi
Asakusa 2-701 Unana · 04 Kagetsudo
Asakusa 2-106 Miyako Sushi
Asakusa 2-608 Asakusa Yokocho
Asakusa 3-405 Suzukien
Komagata 1-709 Komagata Dozeu
Nishi-Asakusa 3-110 Asakusa Imahan
Grouped by street address only (chome and block numbers). Stops in the same group share an address block. I have not measured walking times — use Google Maps on the day.
K
By Kai — Kai's Tokyo Food NotesA Japanese writer based in Chiba, near Tokyo. Kai is a pen name. I compiled this list from the shops' official websites, checked on Oct 29, 2026, and have not visited these shops for this guide. No shop paid to be listed.
Opening times at a glance (official sites, Oct 29, 2026)
9:0001 Unana
10:0002 Kokonoe (Japanese top page says 9:30; shop page 10:00) · 03 Menchi · 04 Kagetsudo on weekends & holidays
11:0004 Kagetsudo on weekdays · 05 Suzukien · 07 Imo Pippi · 08 Asakusa Yokocho · 09 Dozeu
11:3010 Imahan
12:0006 Miyako Sushi (lunch)
03 and 04 close early when sold out. 04's English page says 9:00; I use the Japanese page.

Vegetarian, halal or allergies? Most official sites do not give dietary information, so dietary information here is limited; each stop shows only what is stated. "Not stated" does not mean it suits your diet. Ask the shop before ordering.

Of the official pages I checked, only Asakusa Imahan's explicitly lists accepted payment methods. Carry some cash.

Rather go with a guide? Food tours and a cooking class are at the end of this page.

01Snack

Asakusa Unana 浅草うなな

Grilled rice balls with Japanese eel (unagi yaki-onigiri)

Price
¥630 each (tax not stated)
Hours
9:00–17:30 weekdays · 9:00–18:30 Sat, Sun & holidays
Closed
Open daily (official site)
Card
Not listed on the official pages I checked — bring cash as a backup
Diet
Contains eel · full ingredient and allergen info not stated

2-7-21 Asakusa, Taito-ku

Official site checked Oct 29, 2026

02Snack

Asakusa Kokonoe 浅草九重

Fried manju (age-manju) on Nakamise street

Price
Standard fried manju ¥220 (Japanese product page; the English page still shows ¥200, and the shop announced a price change from October 2026 — confirm the current price at the shop)
Hours
10:00–around 19:00 (Japanese top page: from 9:30; shop page: from 10:00)
Closed
Open daily (official site)
Card
Not listed on the official pages I checked — bring cash as a backup
Diet
Not stated

2-3-1 Asakusa, Taito-ku

Official site checked Oct 29, 2026

03Snack

Asakusa Menchi 浅草メンチ

Freshly fried minced meat cutlet (menchi-katsu)

Price
¥400 each (tax not stated)
Hours
10:00–19:00, closes early when sold out
Closed
Not stated on the official site
Card
Not listed on the official pages I checked — bring cash as a backup
Diet
Contains pork and beef · full ingredient and allergen info not stated

2-3-3 Asakusa, Taito-ku

Official site checked Oct 29, 2026

04Sweets

Asakusa Kagetsudo (main shop) 浅草花月堂 本店

Jumbo melon bread (melon-pan)

Price
Ask at the shop (not listed on the official site)
Hours
From 11:00 weekdays · from 10:00 weekends & holidays (Japanese page; the English page says 9:00). Closes when sold out
Closed
No regular closing day (official site)
Card
Not listed on the official pages I checked — bring cash as a backup
Diet
Not stated

2-7-13 Asakusa, Taito-ku

Official site checked Oct 29, 2026

05Sweets

Suzukien (Asakusa main shop) 壽々喜園 浅草本店

Matcha gelato in seven strength levels

Price
Ask at the shop (not listed on the official site)
Hours
11:00–17:00
Closed
Irregular (announced on their social media)
Card
Not listed on the official pages I checked — bring cash as a backup
Diet
Not stated

3-4-3 Asakusa, Taito-ku

Official site checked Oct 29, 2026

06Sit-down lunchIndoor seats

Bentenyama Miyako Sushi 弁天山美家古寿司

Edomae-style sushi, founded 1866

Price
Set “Ume” ¥5,390 · “Bentenyama” ¥11,660 (tax incl.)
Hours
Lunch 12:00–14:30 (last order 14:00) · Dinner 17:00–21:00 (last order 20:00) · Sun & holidays 12:00–18:00 (last order 17:00)
Closed
Mondays, and the first and third Sundays of each month
Card
Not listed on the official pages I checked — bring cash as a backup
Diet
Contains fish and seafood (sushi) · full ingredient and allergen info not stated
Booking
Phone reservations accepted

2-1-16 Asakusa, Taito-ku

Official site checked Oct 29, 2026

07Sweets

Imo Pippi (Asakusa) 芋ぴっぴ。浅草店

Sweet potato desserts

Price
Ask at the shop (not listed on the official site)
Hours
11:00–18:00
Closed
Not stated on the official site
Card
Not listed on the official pages I checked — bring cash as a backup
Diet
Not stated

2-3-24 Asakusa, Taito-ku

Official site checked Oct 29, 2026

08Indoor food hallIndoor seats

Asakusa Yokocho 浅草横町

An indoor food hall styled like a festival street, on the 4th floor — e.g. monja-yaki at Kaminari Monja

Price
Kaminari Monja: monja from ¥769 (tax incl.)
Hours
Hall 11:00–23:00 · hours differ by shop
Closed
Differs by shop
Card
Not listed on the official pages I checked — bring cash as a backup
Diet
Not stated

4F, 2-6-7 Asakusa, Taito-ku

Official site checked Oct 29, 2026

09Sit-down optionIndoor seats

Komagata Dozeu (main shop) 駒形どぜう 本店

Loach hot pot (dozeu-nabe) — loach is a small freshwater fish. A classic old-Tokyo dish

Price
Dozeu-nabe ¥3,480 (tax incl.)
Hours
11:00–20:30 (last order 20:00)
Closed
No fixed day — closed Nov 17, 24 and 26, 2026 (changes monthly)
Card
Not listed on the official pages I checked — bring cash as a backup
Diet
Contains fish (freshwater loach) · full ingredient and allergen info not stated
Booking
Book online (official)

1-7-12 Komagata, Taito-ku

Official site checked Oct 29, 2026

10Sit-down optionIndoor seats

Asakusa Imahan (Kokusai-dori main shop) 浅草今半 国際通り本店

Sukiyaki and shabu-shabu with marbled Japanese beef

Price
Sukiyaki / shabu-shabu set ¥9,680 (tax incl.). A 10% service charge applies at ¥5,500 or more per person. Grand-menu orders also include a mandatory ¥440 per-person charge for a beef tsukudani appetizer
Hours
11:30–21:30 (last order 20:30) · no new guests 14:30–16:00 · last entry 19:00
Closed
Open daily (official site)
Card
Cards and QR payments accepted (official site)
Diet
Contains beef · full ingredient and allergen info not stated
Booking
Reservations by phone; lunch-menu reservations are not accepted

3-1-12 Nishi-Asakusa, Taito-ku

Official site checked Oct 29, 2026

Planning a morning and lunch?

Start at 01 when it opens (9:00), pick 2–3 more snacks from 02–05 and 07, then sit down for lunch at 06 or 08. 06 is closed on Mondays and on the first and third Sundays of each month, and 03 and 04 close early when sold out. Check each shop's official site on the day.

Prefer to explore with a guide?

Asakusa food tours and a cooking class you can book on Viator. Their routes are set by the tour operators and may differ from the shops above.

I may earn a commission if you book through these links, at no extra cost to you.